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 Current law – Tax on all cigarettes 

sold or held for sale in the state
 Tax evidenced by stamps

 Current state tax is $3.75 per pack of 20 

(effective August 1, 2015)

 FY 2017 Proposal - Increase cigarette 

tax by $0.25 to $4.00 per pack of 20
 Effective 12:01am, August 1, 2016
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 FY 2017 Budget includes $7.1 million 
 Cigarette tax - $5.7 million

 Sales tax - $0.6 million

 Floor Tax - $0.8 million
▪ Tax on existing inventory – on differential 

between tax paid for stamps on existing stock 

and new tax

 Estimate includes 0.7% pack demand 

drop
 Same as FY 2016 estimate
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 2015 Assembly increased tax from 

$3.50 to $3.75

 FY 2016 budget assumes $135.4 

million

 Including $6.5 million for increase

 November 2015 REC – $136.5 million
 0.8% more than enacted
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 Each state/territory has own tax

 Highest – New York, $4.35/pack

 RI is 2nd highest at $3.75/pack

 Lowest – Missouri, $0.17/pack

 32 states & DC have tax of >$1.00

 15 states & DC have tax of >$2.00

 8 states have tax of $3.00 or more
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New England 

States
Tax U.S. Rank

Connecticut* $     3.65 3

Maine $     2.00 12

Massachusetts $     3.51 4

New Hampshire $     1.78 19

Rhode Island $     3.75 2

Vermont $     3.08 6

Source: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Feb. 24, 2016

*Effective July 1, 2016, tax increases to $3.90/pack
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 State cigarette tax not only factor in 
final price

 Federal tax - $1.01 since 2009

 State sales tax 
 Some states allow local option

 Some states allow local cigarette tax 
options in addition to state tax
 New York City - $1.50 local tax

 Chicago - $1.18 local tax, $3.00 county 
tax
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 Base price of product
 Product use/popularity

 Minimum markup – Retail and 

Wholesale
 Lowest price at which product can be 

sold

 To prevent sales below cost or unfair 

pricing

 1939 Assembly enacted initial minimum 

markup laws
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Consumer – Pays retail price plus sales tax

Dealers (Retailers)

Must include retail minimum markup in price to consumers

Distributors (Wholesalers)
Pay cigarette tax

Must include wholesale minimum markup in price to dealers

Manufacturer

Sets the product base price
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Current Prices RI CT MA

Base price/pack of 20 (incl. fed. excise tax) $    4.39 $    4.39 $    3.95

State Cigarette Tax 3.75 3.65 3.51

Total Base Price/pack of 20 $   8.14 $  8.04 $  7.46

Minimum Markup – Wholesaler 2.75% 6.50% 2.75%

Minimum Markup – Retailer 6.00% 8.00% 25.00%

Total Markup/pack of 20 8.92% 15.02% 28.44%

Post Markup Price/pack of 20 $   8.87 $   9.25 $   9.58

Sales Tax Rate 7.0% 6.35% 6.25%

Final Retail Price $   9.49 $   9.84 $  10.18
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Current Prices
RI 

(Art. 12)
CT 

(7/1/2016)
MA

Base price/pack of 20 $     4.39 $    4.39 $    3.95

State Cigarette Tax 4.00 3.90 3.51

Total Base Price/pack of 20 $     8.39 $   8.29 $   7.46

Minimum Markup – Wholesaler 2.75% 6.50% 2.75%

Minimum Markup – Retailer 6.00% 8.00% 25.00%

Total Markup/pack of 20 8.92% 15.02% 28.44%

Post Markup Price/pack of 20 $     9.14 $   9.54 $   9.58

Sales Tax Rate 7.0% 6.35% 6.25%

Final Retail Price $     9.78 $  10.15 $ 10.18
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